Third captain to win an ODI series is Rohit Sharma.

As India wins the ODI series against England, Rohit Sharma joins MS Dhoni and Mohammed Azharuddin on the elusive list.

As his team defeated England by a margin of five wickets in the last ODI, Rohit Sharma, the team’s captain, became the third captain to win an ODI series in England. Therefore, India was able to chase down 260 and win the series 2-1 in the third one-day international of the three-match series in Manchester thanks to Rishabh Pant’s unbeaten 125* and his 133-run partnership with star all-rounder Hardik Pandya. England was bowled out for 259 thanks to some superb spells from players like Yuzvendra Chahal (3/60) and Hardik Pandya (4/24).

A few important contributions were made by the hosts, Jos Buttler (60), Jason Roy (41), and Moeen Ali (34).

India was chasing 260 when Reece Topley destroyed their top order, leaving them at 72/4. However, Pandya and Pant put together a match-winning stand of 133 runs to win it.

The other two Indian captains who also managed to win an ODI series in England were

Mohammed Azharuddin, MS Dhoni, and Rohit Sharma.

Under Dhoni’s leadership, India defeated England 3-1 in a five-match one-day international series.

India won a two-match ODI series in England in 1990 by a score of 2-0 under Azharuddin’s direction.

In the first game, India had defeated England for 110 and won by a margin of 10 wickets.

In the follow-up ODI, England made a strong comeback and triumphed by a score of 100 runs.

The match-deciding run was then won by India thanks to Pant’s century and Hardik’s all-around heroics.

The 2021–2022 visit by India to England was a great success. They drew the Test series 2-2 but won the T20I and ODI series 2-1. They kept England from winning any kind of series, much less one at home.


Best betting sites in India


Powered By:



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *