Neeraj Chopra will act as the team’s manager.

Neeraj Chopra will serve as the squad’s captain for the 37-person Indian athletics team at the Commonwealth Games.

The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) revealed the 37-person Indian athletics team for the 2019 Commonwealth Games on Thursday. Olympic javelin winner Neeraj Chopra will serve as the team’s captain.

Neeraj Chopra, an Olympic champion javelin thrower, is in charge of the 37-member Indian sports team. And was revealed on Thursday for the upcoming Commonwealth Games by the Athletics Federation of India (AFI). Therefore, with few notable shocks, the selection committee chose the athletes in the manner that was expected. Famous sprinters Hima Das and Dutee Chand, who qualified through the women’s 4x100m relay team, are among the 18 female athletes out of the 37 selected by the AFI selection committee.

The selectors also chose the men’s 4×400-meter relay team.

Other members of the team include Jyothi Yarraji, who recently broke her own 100 m NR three times, and Avinash Sable, who recently broke his own 3000 m steeplechase national record for the seventh time.

Aishwarya Babu, who most recently participated in the National Inter-State Championships in Chennai, is also a part of it. She just broke her own national record in the triple jump with an amazing 14.14m effort. Amlan Borgohain won the 100- and 200-meter sprint events at the National Inter-State and owns the 200-meter national record. Failed to meet the AFI’s CWG qualification mark, hence he was prevented from taking the trip. Some of the competitors will need to show their form and fitness before the Birmingham Games. Despite the fact that they were picked.

Veteran discus thrower Seema Punia will compete in her sixth CWG as a result of her past success in the Games. However, before she may compete, she must fulfill the AFI requirements in a contest hosted in the USA.

In each of the previous four CWGs, Punia has won a medal.

Seema Punia’s participation in the CWG “will undoubtedly depend on her performance in the USA,” according to AFI President Adele Sumariwalla.

Punia was absent from the CWG selection tournament, the National Inter-State Senior Championships. Which took place from June 10 to June 14. Given her prior successes at the CWG and Asian Games, he said, “We have allowed her to train and compete in the USA.”

At the Birmingham Games, India will be represented by Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu, and Rohit Yadav in the men’s javelin throw. Praveen Chithravel, Abdulla Aboobacker, and Eldhose Paul all made the team for the men’s triple jump.

Therefore, we are requesting assistance from the Indian Olympic Association in order to increase our quota by one and get accreditation for a few participants. Additionally, before the Games, we have selected a limited group of competitors to examine their form and fitness, according to Sumariwalla.

So, the AFI has been given a quota of 36 seats on the Indian team for the Games from July 28 to August 8.

Shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor will have to perform well in Kazakhstan. Amoj Jacob, meanwhile, has been selected for the men’s 4×400-meter relay team. Therefore, subject to his level of fitness and recovery.

Jacob suffered a hamstring injury while running the last leg for the India “A” team during the Inter-State Championships.

Thus, discus throwers Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia will have to compete in Kazakhstan or California, similar to Sarita Singh. Bhawna Jat, a race walker, must prove her fitness in order to be elected president of the AFI.

Tejaswin Shankar, who holds the high jump national record, was passed through since he did not participate in the National Inter-State competition and did not ask for an exemption. With a season-best leap of 2.27 meters, Tejaswin Shankar earned gold at the NCAA Outdoor Track & Field Championships 2022 last week in the US.

The Team: Men:

Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase); Nitender Rawat (Marathon); M Sreeshankar and Muhammed Anees Yahiya (Long Jump); Abdulla Aboobacker, Praveen Chithravel and Eldhose Paul (Triple Jump); Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Shot Put); Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav (Javelin Throw); Sandeep Kumar and Amit Khatri (Race Walking); Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Ajmal, Naganathan Pandi and Rajesh Ramesh (4x400m Relay).


S Dhanalakshmi (100m and 4x100m relay); Jyothi Yarraji (100mHurdles); Aishwarya B (Long Jump and Triple Jump) and Ancy Sojan (Long Jump); Manpreet Kaur (Shot Put); Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Punia (Discus Throw); Annu Rani and Shilpa Rani (Javelin Throw); Manju Bala Singh and Sarita Romit Singh (Hammer Throw); Bhawna Jat and Priyanka Goswami (Race Walking); Hima Das, Dutee Chand, Srabani Nanda, MV Jilna and NS Simi (4x100m relay).

Best betting sites in India


Powered By:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *